top of page
Search

Studio Space Tour | Working from Home

The UK's lockdown affected a lot of people in a number of different ways, but for myself it was the loss of my studio space and access to print facilities that changed the most. Like thousands of others, we have had to make-do without a normal 9-5 schedule and set up a work space at home.


I'm lucky enough to have chosen to stay in my student house where I have a big desk, plenty of wall space and some access to photoshop to carry on working. So whether this read provokes some desk set-up inspiration, design ideas or just a 5 minute distraction - I thought I'd do a tiny tour of my new space.


First and foremost - my desk, being where I spend most of my time. One of my housemates had decided to give their desk up for one they had bought themselves, and instead of letting it go to waste, I was the lucky person to have the space to create a double desk. I've used some IKEA bits and bobs to help hold some of my materials, and blu tac to attach some of my earlier project work to the walls and make it feel a little more work-focused, but still me.





I store all of my non-essential materials behind a big screenprinted cloth that I made a week or so before lockdown, held up by my fairy light clips. Pretty - and hides the clutter!




I couldn't function properly without my sighh.co weekly planner - it's helped me maintain a routine and reassure me that I'm on track amidst all of the uncertainty.




and some essentials - if you don't know where to start!



I always find that giving my desk a little re-vamp helps put me in the right headspace. Stick up your favourite piece of work, or something that draws inspiration!



Get yourself a planner of some kind..




and something to draw with and draw on - it can be that simple!







One of the most important parts to be aware of when making a workspace suitable for you is to remember just that - it's suitable for you, whether that be to replicate a studio space, office desk or create a whole new working platform from scratch. The space should be built to help you get the best out of yourself whilst feeling happy and comfortable at the same time, whether that be through sticking up your normal work timetable, a little bit of inspiration or some funny photos of loved ones.


Remember that it is your space - and that space can move and evolve as much as you do. There are no rules.


My little space is by no means tidy, and definitely doesn't look like this 90% of the time, but I've tried to replicate my little surface pattern studio to the best of my ability.


My heart goes out to anyone and everyone who has been affected by this pandemic in any shape or form as I realise I am very lucky to only be affected in the way that I have.


I feel that this might be a little helpful to those in a similar situation as myself, not being sure of how to set up their workspace or where to start!


Hopefully, my next studio tour will be back in university - as an MDes student!






29 views0 comments
bottom of page